Alleluia! Skiing on Easter

It was hard to decide: church in church or church on the hill. The hill won:

I can’t think of a time that I feel more grateful for all the blessings in my life than when I am skiing with my family.

One of my favorite things about Reno is the weather. We have four distinct seasons but none is so extreme that you get sick of it. At least I don’t. My favorite season is winter, of course, but it’s hard to beat spring skiing.

We timed our arrival to Mt. Rose today just right. During this time a year the snow can be so firm that it’s hazardous…at least for skiers like me who never learned to ski on the east coast. But today was a glorious sunny day at Mt. Rose. We were skiing by 10:00 just when the snow had softened enough to make it pleasant. By 2:00 it was slushy enough to be hazardous but we’d had our fill. We stopped by the “church” service at the top of Lakeview chair and then headed home.

Leave a comment